Gage R&R Studies for Process Monitoring Instruments?

R
Sir,
Is R & R study required for process monitoring instruments or is it only for the product monitoring/measuring instruments only.

------------------
Sincerly,
Ravi kumar.

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Jerry Eldred

Forum Moderator
Super Moderator
I'll try to give you my layman's answer. I am not an MSA / R & R expert, rather I am a metrology engineer with 25 years experience (so take my attempt from that perspective).

R& R is needed for any measuring instrument whose readings/accuracy/stability you depend upon for product specs. I don't know what aspect of the production you are monitoring, but my guess is (based on your wording) that it may be needed. If you are monitoring a quantitative specified parameter or using readings from this monitor to determine whether you are in or out of control on your process, I would think, yes.

If you could elaborate a little more, that may be helpful. I understand if you don't want to put actual process details on the web (you could put fictitious representations of the process).

------------------

Marc

Hunkered Down for the Duration
Staff member
Admin
Jerry is, as always, correct. However the key word in your question:

-> Is R & R study required for process monitoring
-> instruments or is it only for the product
-> monitoring/measuring instruments only

Is the word required. Do you mean required by QS-9000 or ISO 9001:2000?

In the world of Best Practices you would do an R&R on both inspection/test and process instruments, as Jerry points out. But, as Jerry also says, we need more info to go beyond these general statements.

A

Al Dyer

A gage is a gage is a gage,

If it monitors a process or product it needs to be evaluated. Just a good business practice.

ASD...

Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
L Gage R&R studies for identical Devices - Need to confirm the requirement to perform them Reliability Analysis - Predictions, Testing and Standards 2