GDPR - General Data Protection Regulation - Only applicable to EU data?

MrTetris

Involved In Discussions
The GDPR, as far as I know, is applicable to EU data only. But is that really the case?
According to Art. 3-1, it seems that all data processed in the EU are subject to the GDPR:
"This Regulation applies to the processing of personal data in the context of the activities of an establishment of a controller or a processor in the Union, regardless of whether the processing takes place in the Union or not."

Art. 3-2 mentions: "This Regulation applies to the processing of personal data of data subjects who are in the Union...", but still, if Art, 3-1 is valid, non EU data processed in EU are subject to GDPR. Am I wrong?

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Mark Meer

Trusted Information Resource
I'm no expert, but from what it appears, the only case that is not subject to GDPR is where all of the following conditions are met:
a) You are not based in the Union;
b) You have no servers/systems in Union that process data; and
c) You do not process any data of people in the Union.

If this is the case, depending on your application, this can be pretty tough criteria to meet. ...so basically the idea that it applies to EU data only, while technically true, in practice is unrealistic. How this gets enforced is a whole different question. We'll just have to see, I guess.

mihzago

I think the main premise of the GDPR is to protect any data of EU subjects regardless of where it is processed. If you, for example store data of EU users anywhere in the world, then you're subject to the GDPR.
If you, say have severs in the EU, but don't process any data of EU subjects, which is probably not a frequent scenario, then I don't think GDPR applies, and even if it does I don't see how that would be enforced.

MrTetris

Involved In Discussions
Hi mihzago, maybe my first post was not clear... my problem is the opposite: we are placed in EU, but we process US data. Does gdpr apply?

mihzago