GDT of datums - Putting Datum C on a drawing

Hello all, for a quick background I am a cmm programmer and inspector and I have a question for any and all fellow GD&T intelligent people out there. I am currently in debate with my design team on drawings. On particular drawing datum A is called out to a stamped sheet metal part. Datum B through two tool-holes. So far I am good however they have a center-line through these two holes as their reference point. I asked them to put Datum C through this center-line of these two toolholes so there is no future confusion or assumptions or anything of that nature. He states that putting Datum C on the drawing goes against ASME standards. We are using ASME Y14.5 2009. I asked him how it goes against standard and he couldn't tell me other than example he provided because it wasn't on there. I told him I have to have C on the drawing or else we in Metrology will not and can not do layouts. Reason we refuse is because we do not want to be responsible for assuming and going against design intent even if told by words but we HAVE to have that design intent on clearly stated on drawing. Can anyone provide example or standard that states datum C being marked on center-line through two labeled datum tool holes goes against standard? Sorry for the extremely long question just wanted all the details properly established. I have attached a snippet of the image with the two called out datum Bs and center-line between them.. Datum A is not shown but is on drawing; due to nature I can not show complete drawing. Thanks

Attachments

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Matt's Quality Handle

Involved In Discussions
A bit rusty on the subject, but I've got some other questions:

What type of feature is datum A? Most of the time, the primary datum is planar, so everything after this will assume -A- is a plane.