Search the Elsmar Cove!
**Search ALL of Elsmar.com** with DuckDuckGo including content not in the forum - Search results with No ads.
  • Google has changed ad sizes for some reason. I am investigating and will get the sizes reduced to what they have been until now. I apologise for the inconvenience.

Help develop sampling plan for prototype samples (medical devices)

SGquality

Quite Involved in Discussions
Hello everyone,

I need help on developing sampling plans for prototype samples and am looking for which valid statistical technique to use.
Please be kind on me as I am new to Statistics :)

Thank you

Bev D

Heretical Statistician
Staff member
Super Moderator
We need more information.
What are the prototypes - what do they do?
What are you testing for?

Bev D

Heretical Statistician
Staff member
Super Moderator
OK but what do they actually do? and what will you be testing for?

sample sizes depend on many specific things. what defect rate are you looking to be under? is the device a single use device or is it a multi use instrument?

You need to consider the risk associated with the devices and of the testing. For verification of attributes I suggest looking at a binomial type model or the normal distribution for variable data. For both V&V make sure you justify the use of prototype very carefully.

These papers give good examples of the how the sample size can be determined.
Sample Sizes: How Many Do I Need? | 2014-07-07 | Quality Magazine
Statistical Sampling Plan for Design Verification and Validation of Medical Devices | IVT - JVT

SGquality

Quite Involved in Discussions
Bev, these prototypes will be used to test the functional requirements of the device. For example, these prototypes are hearing aids and used to test various aspects of hearing aids for audio etc.

Bev D

Heretical Statistician
Staff member
Super Moderator
Sorry - two threads that are very similar: