Help Setting Up and Analyzing 3 Factor 2 Level Full Factorial Design for DOE

PeterLe

Involved In Discussions
Hello everyone! I'm hoping to get some assistance with analyzing a DOE I conducted. I'm a total newbie when it comes to minitab and it's actually my first time using this.

I have 3 factors: RPM level, Nozzle size and Pressure. My output variable is force.

So I got stat-->DOE and create a factorial design. I have no clue what else to input besides changing the number of factors from 2 to 3 and also creating the factors but I have left them as -1 and 1 which the factors above. Should I use numeric, for example typing down the exact case for -1 for pressure? Also I select full factorial design. After this, I'll select "OK."

So after, this I have my output variable as force and I type in my results (attached picture).

Then I'll go: stat --> DOE --> Analyze factorial design. Then I'll type in 'Force (N)' then I'll click okay and I get the results (attached as well). Is this the right output? I'm also not very familiar with what the results say. So I'm befuddled!

Also, I also measured my nominal, how would I incorporate it into my analysis?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Attachments

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Miner

Forum Moderator
Staff member
Admin
It is acceptable to retain the coded levels of -1 and 1. If you are only trying to determine what factors are significant and to determine directionality that is sufficient. If you intent to use the final model to make predictions, you must remember that the model applies to the coded levels, not the natural levels.

The results are typical for a saturated design. That is, a design with only one replicate and all possible factors still in the model. There are two possible steps forward.

One would be to repeat the experiment as a second block. That will allow you to analyze all possible terms, including the three way interaction.