How can Acceptance Number and Reject Number be larger than Sample Size on Z1.4 Table?

Katana_Clarity

Starting to get Involved
I am pretty new to Sampling and I am trying to figure things out. Please oblige if my question is dumb but I am assuming Sample Size means the items from the lot that will be inspected. Acceptance Number means the least number of items acceptable within the Sample to make the lot acceptable and reject number means the most number of items that can be non conforming to reject the lot as a whole.

Well, if acceptance number and rejectance number are both derived from the sample, how can sample size be smaller than acceptance and rejection number as seen in the image for Sample Size Code D, AQL of 65. Sample Size comes to 8 and acceptance number is 10, how is that possible?

WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 5.06.47 PM.jpeg

Bev D

Heretical Statistician
Leader
Super Moderator
First, the acceptance number is the maximum number of defects in the sample for the lot to be acceptable.

Second - welcome to negotiated statistics. The tables are not strictly based on stats. If they were the lot size would be irrelevant. (Except when the lot size is extremely small). In the example you show, the sample size is impossible so you would have to increase the sample size to a possible one. But in all honesty, an. AQL of 65 is simply absurd in this day and age.

Steve Prevette

Deming Disciple
Leader
Super Moderator
My interpretation of this situation is based upon Acheson Duncan's Quality Control and Industrial Statistics (also https://www.amazon.com/Quality-Control-Industrial-Statistics-Fifth/dp/0256035350 ) which reprints this table as part of the chapter on MIL-STD-105D on page 229. Basically the numbers are all similar down the diagonals. Note 10 and 11 run down and to the left.