How does one get into the Quality Control (Quality Management) field?

S

SirLancelot

Hello, This is my first post here.

I am currently a University student about to graduate with a business degree...however, I have had a course in quality control, and several courses in statistics and programming (python), and am strong in math. I have an excellent GPA.

I would really like to work in quality management. I find it fascinating.
But it seems many job openings only require a high-school diploma.

Now, I'm fine with that, but I don't want to sell myself short either. I don't really have any work experience at all, so I'm willing to work from the ground up.

However, I'm wondering if there are no other opportunities, which focus more on the statistical/analysis side of things, yet are still entry level, and don't necessarily need an engineering background.

Perhaps I ask for too much.

I would love it if anyone could elaborate on the opportunities. Thank you very much.

Elsmar Forum Sponsor
P

PaulJSmith

Re: How does one get into the quality control field?

From my personal experience:
1. Get an entry-level job in an industry that fascinates you
2. Care more about the quality of the products (or services) than your co-workers
3. Openly criticize management for their uneven attention to quantity over quality (this is especially effective when done at a company-wide meeting to introduce the new Quality Manager)
4. Welcome yourself to QA when they ask you to join that department

(Results may vary.)

P

PaulJSmith

...and, welcome to The Cove, SirLancelot!

Marc

Hunkered Down for the Duration
Staff member
Admin

Key are statistics and math, not to mention good problem solving ability.

Jen Kirley

Quality and Auditing Expert
Staff member
Admin

Welcome to the Cove SirLancelot!

These days there is more QA work for mid-manager level people than past days when QA people were within a division and did their Jedi work behind closed doors.