How to process Customer ECO's (Engineering Change Orders)

D

dillydally

:bigwave:Hello! I am new to the ISO process and have been tasked with getting the procedures and work instructions written.
Some background......the company is a "service" company that supplies repair/rework for legacy product to 1 customer (at the moment). The legacy product is 20+ years old and sometimes the customer sends ECO's replacing components.
My question is two fold......1. What kind of doc control do I need to set up for this? Can I just use the customer's ECO and control it or do I have to make up the company's own ECO form and control it?
ANY comments would help!
:thanks:

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Jim Wynne

Staff member
Admin
Re: Customer ECO's

Welcome to the Cove. :bigwave:

There are a couple of things that should be happening. You should be getting a change notice (obviously), and you should invoke control over what happens after an ECO arrives. You don't necessarily need a form of your own; the customer's ECO is a document of external origin and should be controlled accordingly. If you think having your own form might help, that's fine but it isn't necessary.

As far as control of the process is concerned, you might need to think about:
  • When the transition to the new version is to take place;
  • Whether or not the components you need are or will be available;
  • Possible upcharges if the new component costs more than the old one, or involves more work.
  • Having a purchase order in hand that specifies the new revision;
  • Disposition of existing inventory of components or finished assemblies.
You get the idea. There might be some of those things that don't apply, and others that I missed, either because I'm not very bright or because you know your business better than I do. Create a working process and then document it.

Wes Bucey

Quite Involved in Discussions