Hyperlinking Documents

O

old and gray

hyper links

I know that there are many links to other threads. The auditor told me that if I linked my documents it would serve me a world of good to do so. I only use micro soft word and microsoft excel for all my documentation.

Anyone have simple, and I mean simple instructions on how to link documents in micro soft word and excel. The help topics are not helping me because I am a total novice at everything computer.

P.S. when you get to be my age, everything is a major undertakeing.

SteelMaiden

Super Moderator
Trusted Information Resource
Welcome to the Cove, we hope you enjoy yourself!

Hyperlinks ARE wonderful creatures, think of them as an electronic helper. If you have a paper system and you want to refer to another document you would say, "See the procedure XXXX in such and such location." Now, you have to get up and go to some file and rifle through it until you find the right paper file. Hyper linking means you can read everything right from your computer and every time you want to see some referenced document you just click on the underlined prompt and presto the document opens. No more opening Excel, choosing file, open and browsing through all the available files. So, sound good, huh? The great thing is it's easy to do. You may be old and gray, but I'm older than dirt and I figured it all out.:biglaugh:

Step one, you need to have any documents that you want to hyperlink to created.
Step two, make sure that your files are stored in a logical (for you) method so it is easy for you to set up the hyperlinks.
Step three, in the document that you want to set up the hyperlink(s), pick a word or phrase probably something like "See the procedure XXXX" and highlight that phrase, or a word that will contain the actual link