I need help on Six sigma and TQM - Quality Management course discussion question

A

Aarnes

I'm now studying a master course in Quality management, my lecturer gave us a n interesting question... made me so confuse!! please help me..
the question is "Discuss ISO9000 quality management system, Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, Kaizen and Six Sigma about their role in Total Quality Management."

With my understanding to run TQM in a company, first is to apply kaizen so that to build up a culture of continuous improvement in the company. the ISO 9000 is a guideline and the requirement to meet a certain requirements on the qty system in the company. then can apply six sigma as the employees are prepared for continuous improvement on the existing qty level. As the above tools are base on solving problems or minimize defects which did not involve any finance concern. but with the applied qty systems and finally profits can be increased then it suits the requirements of the Malcolm Award.

Pls comment on my understanding.. thank you very much!!

Last edited by a moderator:
Elsmar Forum Sponsor

howste

Thaumaturge
Super Moderator
Re: I need help on Six sigma and TQM

I believe that ISO 9001 and Malcolm Baldrige are more focused on the overall system. They will help the organization to determine priorities, to define the processes, and to implement the controls necessary to achieve results. Kaizen and Six Sigma provide tools to improve the established system.

T

Tom Slack

Hi Aarnes,
Thank you for an interesting post! Also, thank you for telling us that it is homework.:thanks:

To organize these quality programs, I suggesting looking at the Deming's Plan, Do, Check, Act cycle. By demonstrating how programs support these functions, the complex concepts will be packaged in bite size pieces.