IA Construction Procurement Process

Good day! I'm new to ISO and I am currently a trainee in Internal Auditing of our company. Our company is still not certified but we're already using IMS and they requires me to do an Internal audit as part of my training, I will be auditing the Procurement Process and its functions. Can I ask for just a little guide to start of? I am having trouble coming up with IA questions for ISO 9001 in regards to the purchasing process. Can anyone please help me or provide me some questions in regards with procurement process? A Procurement Audit Checklist would be a great help :) I'm currently studying the updated process of procurement department. I hope someone can give me a little guide regarding this matter. I would be very glad to read some insights about the topic and I know I still need a lot of things to learn in this field.

Company Background:
Construction Company with expertise in MEPF, FDAS and Infrastucture and Railway system.

Procurement Background:
Purchased equipment and construction supplies like pipes, fittings, wires, cable wireways and other materials related to construction.
Imports uequipment like generators and pumps.

Looking forward to your answers and insights! Have a great day :)

Regards,

Zah

Last edited:
Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Johnny Quality

Quite Involved in Discussions
Zah,

Welcome.

What documentation does your organization have that describes the Procurement Department. However, it's best to audit business processes rather than departments. Your organization may have a process flow, turtle diagram or a list of the processes and how it functions in the business. It is best to base your questions on that.

Without looking at your processes I would ask...

• How are suppliers assessed for competence/conformance to requirements?
  • How are suppliers chosen? What methods? Who?
  • How are orders given to suppliers?