IATF and ISO9001

Littlemiss

Involved In Discussions
Our company has a certification for IATF currently. I don't see any mention of ISO9001, are they actually separate? Unfortunately, I am new to IATF and so I thought they went together.

Ashland78

Quite Involved in Discussions
There are many sections within IATF that reference ISO 9001:2015... All of ISO 9001 is mentioned through out IATF standard. Hope this helps.

malasuerte

Our company has a certification for IATF currently. I don't see any mention of ISO9001, are they actually separate? Unfortunately, I am new to IATF and so I thought they went together.

You can't have IATF certification without ISO certification as well. Your registrar should have provided you with the ISO certification as well.

Littlemiss

Involved In Discussions
You can't have IATF certification without ISO certification as well. Your registrar should have provided you with the ISO certification as well.
That's what I am wondering, I have not met her but will in November. I have my internal audits covering both standards to ensure we have looked at all that is needed. I will feel more confident once I have went thru at least one audit with our auditor. Thank you!

Sidney Vianna

Post Responsibly
Leader
Admin
They are separate but similar.
They are not separate. IATF 16949:2016 is an augmentation of ISO 9001:2015 and not a stand alone standard. The former invokes all of the latter.
IATF and ISO9001

Howard Atkins

Forum Administrator
Leader
Admin
This is incorrect, there is no obligation and depends on CB, there is a requirement for extra time to be added certainly if there is a difference in scope for example you want the ISO certificate to add railway brakes as these cannot be covered by the IATF standard.

Ashland78