IDEs and Clinical Investigators - Advice About Records?

What to do with site files when PI physically closes site and moves out of state mid study?

• Site should de-identify records and ship to the Sponsor (international).

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Find an Iron Mountain by investigator's site and keep them in the state, and away from Sponsor.

• Try to identify another MD familiar with research who will keep them.

• Something else - please suggest - no CRO involved.

• Do I need to re-consent all of the subjects?

• Total voters
Hello

I've been running an international IDE study for about 2 years. I'm the clinical lead. Trial involves subjects being treated with SBRT radiation with imaging timepoints at baseline, just prior to radiation, one after several weeks of radiation treatment, and final at 6 months past last radiation (about 8-9 months altogether).

One of my principal investigators (PI) just informed me that he's moving to a different state in the US. I told him to cease enrollment, and we're looking into whether any subjects will miss their 6 month imaging session (required by study, but not by standard of care). PI will inform the IRB. He's physically closing his practice, and there are no co-investigators.

My question is this: what do we do with the clinical study records, source data, and essential documents? I was told by our experienced regulatory person that they can't cross state lines (???) We've been monitoring 100% SDV the whole time. But, the site will close, so the records can't stay there. Do we inform PI to ship them to our company for storage? That seems weird to me. The records may not all be de-identified - we can ask them to do that. We're submitting to FDA in another year or so.

This hasn't come up in my 20+ years of research. Any advice gladly received - thanks.

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

indubioush

Quite Involved in Discussions