IEC 62304 : Risk control for SaMD

Hi,

I am a young design quality engineer with no software experience and I am updating the hazard analysis of a SaMD.
My main interrogation is how to define Software Risk Control measures.
For instance one risk of our software is that the user interface does not show the medical warnings when launching the software.

What could be a Risk Control for this ? Testing the software code may seem like an option but this does not enter the 3 categories of risk controls defined by ISO 14971 (design, protection, information for safety). Plus, according to ISO 62304, testing the software is part of the verification campaign so it can not be both risk mitigating control AND part of the verification of the SaMD.

To summarize, how do you implement a software risk control by design?

For info the SaMD is class B.

Thank you very much for your help.
Best regards,
Tom

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

mihzago

Trusted Information Resource
I would look at it a little different way.
Why do medical warnings have to be displayed when launching the software?
It probably is a control measure for another risk, and if that's the case, then instead of creating another risk control, you demonstrate though verification and/or validation that the medical warnings were implemented and effective.

yodon

Staff member
Super Moderator
I am a young design quality engineer with no software experience and I am updating the hazard analysis of a SaMD.
Houston, we have a problem! How will you define software risk controls without any software experience? Many of the causes of failure required to be considered under 62304 will require software experience to address.

Next: testing should NEVER be a risk control. Testing can only verify a risk control.

Agree with @mihzago in that it sounds like what you're talking about is a risk control for something else.