Search the Elsmar Cove!
**Search ALL of Elsmar.com** with DuckDuckGo including content not in the forum - Search results with No ads.

IEC 62304 vs. General Principles of Software Validation

M

michel71

Hi all,

I'm new in the cove,
We are a small company that are selling in US and around the world.
In the US we are medial device class 2, 510k exempt. We are NOT medical in the rest of the world.
We are ISO 13485 certificated and comply with 21 CFR 820.

Our product is integrating with software, so we are developing our software system in compliance with IEC 62301 norm.
I just read FDA General Principles of Software Validation and i think that i still don't comply with FDA with IEC 62301.

Please can someone help

yodon

Staff member
Super Moderator
Where, specifically, do you think you don't comply with FDA guidelines or requirements? I think it will be easier to address specific questions rather than to consider generalities.

M

michel71

Hi yodon,

Thank for quick response.

To be more specific. IEC 62304 field of application stipulate "This standard does not cover validation and final release of the MEDICAL DEVICE, even when the MEDICAL DEVICE consists entirely of software".

My question is: Since IEC 62304 doesn't cover validation, do i have to use the FDA general principles validation to validate my Medical Device?

glork98

Involved In Discussions
My question is: Since IEC 62304 doesn't cover validation, do i have to use the FDA general principles validation to validate my Medical Device?
Yes. Exactly.

Use of the V&V terms is often perplexing. Software testing determines that the software does what it is supposed to do. (Often called "Verification"). Then system-level testing and use-level testing is the "validation" that show it accomplishes its purpose.