IF formula - Excel 2003

P

poppy666

I'm a total novice looking for some help.

I would like to enter a date into a cell in sheet 2-14 and have a specific cell in sheet 1 have a tick (check) mark. If no date entered then no tick.

Can anyone help me with this please?

Elsmar Forum Sponsor
L

lk2012

hi, using the IF formula is a good idea. This formula will be in your cell no1. It will be like IF(cell2-14 contains XYZ,"tick", <leave empty>).
Best thing is to check online tutorials for the edition of Excel you're using to make sure you've got the right format.

Ninja

Looking for Reality
Trusted Information Resource
Howdy,

The "Tick mark" will be a bit involved...but having it give a value or text is not so hard:
The difference being one is a symbol, and the other is a value.
Both are possible.

{I'll assume the cell where the date goes is cell A113}
For the cell where you want the result...put the IF in as
=IF(A113 > 0 , "tick" , "" )

If you want the result to be text, you need the quotations around the result.
If you want the result to be a number, you do not need the quotes.
The "" end result is the character for {blank}.

HTH

Darius

Quite Involved in Discussions
=+IF(O347=0,"",CHAR(252)) or =+IF(O347=0,"",?)

and changing the character format to Wingdings

change O347=0 to the comparison that suits you.

Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
X Microsoft Excel 2003 Formula Restrictions Excel .xls Spreadsheet Templates and Tools 9
A Excel OOT (Out of Tolerance) Formula Excel .xls Spreadsheet Templates and Tools 3
S used excel formula calculated the ARL's with Rule1&Rule2 for Shewhart control chart Statistical Analysis Tools, Techniques and SPC 0
F How to Calculate the unbiased Standard Deviation in Excel using Minitab Formula Capability, Accuracy and Stability - Processes, Machines, etc. 6
F Excel I want to use the count I get in another formula Excel .xls Spreadsheet Templates and Tools 13
M Formula for Bell Shape in Excel Using Minitab Software 1