I'm a Civil Engineer - How can I learn about ISO 9000?

ISO 9000

I'm civil engineer and i want to start with ISO 9000 where and how i can lear about it without going to consultants? where to start?

Elsmar Forum Sponsor
E

energy

This site is a good place to start. Read all the topics to sort of get a feel for real problems. You can also enter ISO in your search engine and shop around. The ISO Man is a good source for "indoctrination". Good Luck

J

Jim Triller

Try to meet with people in your area that have the experience of implementing and/or administering ISO registered systems. Learn from them what to do and not do.

There is a database of registered companies on the web at: http://www.qualitydigest.com/ and you can also contact the local chapter of ASQ (http://www.asq.org/) to find people who are experienced with ISO.

G

Greg Mack

I always tend to think that Consultants are the easy way out, and they only leave you with the mess they left anyway which gives the whole thing a bad name! (That of which we are still feeling the effects of thanks to the consultants of the 80's and early 90's!)

My thoughts are that ISO is pretty much common sense business practices. It is all about increasing controls and disciplines and reducing risks to the business.

If you read through it, you could easily see where your business practices fit in.

First of all document what you do, then fill in the gaps where you need to comply. I'm sure you will find that you are doing most of what is required anyway with a few tighter controls to add.

I'd be interested to know how you decide to go about it.

Marc

Hunkered Down for the Duration
Staff member
Admin