Search the Elsmar Cove!
**Search ALL of Elsmar.com** with DuckDuckGo including content not in the forum - Search results with No ads.

Information Technology in IATF 16949 audit scope

Hello all,

This is my first time post in the COVE. I have question regarding internal audit for IT dept that need your advise.

I used Turtle diagram when commencing the audit. When we go through the "IT Infrastructure" part, I asked about the server room and the required control condition.

Not only the authorized access, I mean temperature and humidity requirements in the server room. The answer is 25 degree Celsius without reference. "Someone" told them a long time ago !

In case the air conditioning broken down and start to blow warm air, there will be a notification email to IT team, then they will take appropriate actions. Not actions are defined as well. Also, no need to calibrate/verify the temp monitoring system. To add on, there's no company global requirements about it. These are all the answers from our IT team.

My question is what is the scope of auditing IT according to IATF 16949? How deep the auditor should go? There are many comments from our internal auditor team that IATF has no specific requirements about IT and the server room. Just only audit the data back up system and cyber attack is enough. Is that true?

Thanks
Fahsai

I'm wondering why you are auditing the server room and asking such questions. IATF 16949 is about product quality and meeting customer requirements, effectively and efficiently. Are you sure WHY you are asking about these (IT) things, relative to those principles?

Every activities in manufacturing are relied on it. Server down is very critical for the users. It can lead to not meeting the customer delivery requirements.And it is the “what” in the turtle diagram. Why we should not consider it?

Why we should not consider it?