Injection moulding supplier control and data - Plastic head band

L

Led_honda

Hi All,

I am new to this forum, so firstly I will introduce myself.
Currently I work as a product design engineer for a company in Ireland call BMR. Its great to see a forum which is very active in helping one another.

Here is my problem:

We have an injection molded part, a headband that is being produced at a china factory. The initial run of part was very successful and the headband was approved for manufacture. (Its a structural part)

We decide to have a small production run to ensure we had good product before full scale. However during this molding run the headbands became brittle. After evaluation we discovered that as a result of running the molding machine too cold, the part degraded. I have asked the molder to supply me with some data on a continuously basis so I can ensure temperature, pressures etc are kept and controlled. It may also give me some visibility to the route cause should a failure happen in the future.

Currently the only method we have to identify a good part is a destructive test. So carryout sampling methods become very expensive..

Can anyone give me a little guidance?
I know it’s a big area,

Led

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Howard Atkins

Forum Administrator
Leader
Admin
Welcome,

What is your agreement with the supplier in terms of quality responsibility?
He should be capable of providing a correct part and he should prove to you that the part is OK.

Unfortunately you are doing his work, you must demand that he supplies process monitoring data and he perform the testing.

If he is not providing what you want tell him that you intend to change supplier. I am afraid that in your situation only the stick will work.

Remember: Only the rich can afford to buy cheaply

Jim Wynne

Leader
Admin

I have asked the molder to supply me with some data on a continuously basis so I can ensure temperature, pressures etc are kept and controlled.