SBS - The best value in QMS software

Inspection/sampling economics

S

stm08007

Hello!

I'm studying for the CQE and I've come across something else in the primer that isn't quite clicking. See the first equation in the attached picture.

I don't really understand the difference between variables B and C and then how they logically fit in the equation-

Cost per sampling* max samples makes sense, but why then would you add to it "cost per inspection unit* average samples"?

So if you had 30 samples from a 500 PC lot and it costed $1 to inspect each one, I see why you would multiple 30*$1, but why would you add something else to it? And in this case what would you add?

My picture is not attaching so the formula given is:
Total Cost= overhead cost + ('cost/unit of sampling' * max sample size) + ('cost/unit of inspecting' * average samples size)

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

GRP

Involved In Discussions
Hello!

I'm studying for the CQE and I've come across something else in the primer that isn't quite clicking. See the first equation in the attached picture.

I don't really understand the difference between variables B and C and then how they logically fit in the equation-

Cost per sampling* max samples makes sense, but why then would you add to it "cost per inspection unit* average samples"?

So if you had 30 samples from a 500 PC lot and it costed $1 to inspect each one, I see why you would multiple 30*$1, but why would you add something else to it? And in this case what would you add?

My picture is not attaching so the formula given is:
Total Cost= overhead cost + ('cost/unit of sampling' * max sample size) + ('cost/unit of inspecting' * average samples size)
Does the inspection "consume" the part? Is it possible you are unable to sell it due to the inspection?

If applied to destructive tests it makes sense to consider the cost of inspection plus the cost of the part.

S

stm08007