SBS - The best value in QMS software

Internal Audit Requirements for ISO 9001 Registration

B

balliso911

Hello,
I have been tasked for the past several months with obtaining ISO 9001 certification for my company. Im sure the questions I have may seem somewhat elementary, but I greatly appreciate the help and knowledge.

With that being said, I am currently in the process of finishing up all the documented procedures. I have done a fair amount of research, internet, reading topics on this forum, a couple of books, and various contacts. The questions I have are; With me being hired on as a consultant, will I be qualified in the eyes of the registrar to perform the internal audit? Do I need any kind of "formal" training such as a classroom, online CD, powerpoint, etc... I have zero experience with ISO prior to being hired. The company i am consulting for consists of 4 employees and we dont really have the finances to outsource.

Second, does anyone recommend a registrar that services the DC area? I have contacted several through a google search but I am looking for some experienced adivse on a registrar that could best service my company. We are like i said, a small, service oriented business that provides management advise to the federal market.

Thanks in advance for any input.

Elsmar Forum Sponsor
Re: Internal Audit and registration

Firstly, the auditor will never know you are a consultant - unless you have a sign on you!

But your questions are very valid, since the client will have to show you are competent. If you've little experience with this, then it's going to show in your audit results/reports. That's even if the discussion about who you are and your relationship never surfaces anything. Doing audits is very close to the CB auditor's 'heart' so it's not difficult for them to determine whether the audits are any good.