Internal Audit Schedule – Who gets to set the schedule?

I was hoping for some clarification on this matter from people more experienced then myself.
We had a surveillance visit for our 9001 and 14001 IMS recently and some of the things the auditor ‘recommended’ we do strike me as just plain wrong.
He asked to see our internal audit schedule, which I gave him, and it showed that our schedule runs January to December and we had done a full system audit in June, two partial ones in September and October and there was another partial one due in December. He told me that I needed to change my audit schedule so that all our internal audits were completed between his visits (i.e. November to November) and that the internal audit we had scheduled in December counted as slippage as it was not completed for his visit.
Now, I am new to 9001 and 14001, but as far as I can see it does not state anywhere in either standard that the audits have to be scheduled like that. It just says you have to set and stick to a schedule, which I have done.
When I said as much to him and that the December audit can’t count as being missed as it hasn’t happened yet he was dismissive and insisted it meant 25% of our scheduled audits hadn’t been completed and would therefore be a non-conformance, so it had to be changed.
So, is there some clause that I am missing here or is he just trying to make me fit our IMS around him?

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

AliGuff

Starting to get Involved
I was hoping for some clarification on this matter from people more experienced then myself.
We had a surveillance visit for our 9001 and 14001 IMS recently and some of the things the auditor ‘recommended’ we do strike me as just plain wrong.