Internal Auditing a previous Nonconformance?

K

Kchnwtch

I work as QAdmin in a tiny company (15 ppl). Recently the boss told me that a customer had a complaint. Seems a process that they specifically requested wasn't done. The boss confessed that it was probably his error; he was told verbally by the customer to add helicoils to the job, and he forgot to add it to the router. I asked him how he gets his information from this customer and he answered, "bits and pieces...it's complicated."

Now we're in the middle of an IA, and I'm an auditor, but we've only really completed one major audit since we certified (ISO 9001:2008), so I'm pretty new at this. This one job with the complaint really addresses all the questions we have in our audit checklist. The boss and his admin asst. pretty much set up all the jobs from information he gathers from the customer. There's some friction there, because they've been doing it "their way" for 30 some years, and their "system" causes problems sometimes.

My question: Can I use this NC as an audit example, or is that unfair, or bad auditing? I think I might get some real answers rather than, "oh we always do this and that..." I'm due to investigate it anyway (since I'm 2008 I still get to work on "preventive actions"). Can I kill two birds with this one internal audit stone? And do you drop CAPAs on your boss? Thanks for your help! :thanks:

Sidney Vianna

Post Responsibly
Leader
Admin
Re: Internal-Auditing a previous NC?

The customer complaint could (and should) have triggered a corrective action by itself, without the need to report it via an internal audit.

If your boss really wants the organization to improve and the QMS to drive improvement, he should not object to use the system to fix the failures, so similar problems don't recur. Obviously you have to be tactful, but remember: it is not the boss who is the problem. It is the system...;)

J

JoShmo