Informational Internal Audits - Wear multiple hats what can and can't I audit (so I'm not auditing my own work)

embedded

Involved In Discussions
I work at a small company where I wear many hats. I'm new to quality and putting together an internal audit plan for the first time. I started off with our key processes(sales, D&D, purchasing/inventory, and production), and for each key process listed the process document(each key process has multiple process documents and process owners) and corresponding process owners. My problem is when I look at the four key processes and process owners my name is showing up as a process owner for one of the process documents in 3 of the 4 key processes. Does that mean I can't audit these areas?

To give a specific example I'd really like to audit production myself, I don't work in production but I am a process owner in that I'm responsible to define processes for RMAs and control of production services and provisions. I don't actually do the work myself, the people that do report to me. What are the requirements and recommendations given my current situation?

AndyN

A problem shared...
Staff member
Super Moderator
Can you be objective and impartial? If you aren't touching what's being done, you're good. This issue of not auditing your own work, was removed to help small businesses. Choose something which was done a while ago, make a good plan to audit actual requirements and not ISO and keep good notes of what was sampled. Simples!

John Broomfield

Staff member
Super Moderator
You are not auditing your own work unless you are auditing work you have actually done. But who do you have to audit your internal audits?

Recommend that you select another person with the recommended attributes for training to become your second internal auditor.

That may also ease your concern for keeping your audits objective and impartial.

Nowhere does it say that you can't audit your own work.
Are you an honest person?