Is capability applicable for a destructive test?

Dear all,

I'm a QE beginner, and I have some doubts concerning cabability process in a destructive test.

Background: I have a crankshaft that have a special characteristic about the supported torque. The minimum torque needs to be 21,5Nm, and when we do some tests with torquemeter, when the torque is exceed, the crankshaft breaks.

The question is: Is capability applicable for a destructive test?

Thanks in advance!

Bruno

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Bev D

Heretical Statistician
Staff member
Super Moderator
welcome nhonibru! are you asking about the capability of the torque measuring system or the capability of the strength of the crankshafts?

Al Rosen

Holed-up in a Hotel in South Florida
Staff member
Super Moderator
I think we/you need more data. Did you incrementally apply the torque? in what increments? How much did you exceed the rating?

I think we/you need more data. Did you incrementally apply the torque? in what increments? How much did you exceed the rating?
Yes Al Rosen, we incrementally applied the torque. The values should be at a minimum of 21,5Nm and we found a lot of values in a range of 20,0 to 21,5Nm.

Al Rosen

Holed-up in a Hotel in South Florida
Staff member
Super Moderator
Yes Al Rosen, we incrementally applied the torque. The values should be at a minimum of 21,5Nm and we found a lot of values in a range of 20,0 to 21,5Nm.
If you want some help, you post all your data, but out of the chute you are not meeting your spec minimum if you have a lot of values <21.5. You don't need a capability study to tell you this.

If you want some help, you post all your data, but out of the chute you are not meeting your spec minimum if you have a lot of values <21.5. You don't need a capability study to tell you this.
Attached the file with all the measures...