Is it a requirement of 9001:2008 to have Management Training Records?

T

tomjess

We were given a non conformance at last years audit (I am new to the company) and it read like this:
"Branch training records were available for all staff members apart from branch manager. Management training records could not be found"

Thanks in advance

howste

Thaumaturge
Trusted Information Resource
Re: Management Training Records

We were given a non conformance at last years audit (I am new to the company) and it read like this:
"Branch training records were available for all staff members apart from branch manager. Management training records could not be found"

Thanks in advance

ALL personnel are required to have records of competence:

ISO 9001:2008 said:
6.2.1 General

Personnel performing work affecting conformity to product requirements shall be competent on the basis of appropriate education, training, skills and experience.

NOTE Conformity to product requirements can be affected directly or indirectly by personnel performing any task within the quality management system.

6.2.2 Competence, training and awareness

The organization shall
a) determine the necessary competence for personnel performing work affecting conformity to product requirements...
e) maintain appropriate records of education, training, skills and experience (see 4.2.4).

If the Branch Manager has training specified as part of the competency requirements, then there must be records of training for the Branch Manager. If the competency requirements determined for the Branch Manager include only education, skills, and/or experience, then there only need to be records of these.

K

Ka Pilo

Re: Management Training Records

Thanks in advance
Staff members need to demonstrate evidence of of their competence relevant to their jobs or functions. Training record is a good start but not a guarantee of competence. Auditor needs to go further.

Big Jim

Admin