Is it possible to merge 8.2 and 8.3?

TamurRizwan

Registered
Hello,

I am currently completing my internship and have been tasked with the process of obtaining ISO 9001 certification for the company I'm working for.

The company primarily manufactures order specific products, based on their standard products, and does not engage in research and development (R&D) activities very often. The company makes emergency equipment for oil spill so the standard products always have modified specifications from customers.

I am considering the possibility and feasibility of creating a standard that encompasses both Clause 8.2 (Requirements for Products and Services) and Clause 8.3 (Design and Development) of the ISO 9001 standard. My concern is whether such a combined standard would be acceptable during an audit without raising red flags.
I hope this makes sense.

Please keep in mind I am still studying so I do not have much experience with ISO9001.

Your insights and advice on this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Kronos147

Trusted Information Resource
Consider the process approach. If your organization addresses the requirements of 8.2 & 8.3 with one of your processes, and all of the requirements are met, then yes, they can be "combined".

The standard doesn't say how you accomplish your goals, only what requirements you must address in the process.

Jen Kirley

Quality and Auditing Expert
Leader
Admin
Welcome to the Cove!

8.2 is an input to 8.3, but that isn't the only place where it is used. Your Design process would certainly include 8.2.2 and 8.2.3 as inputs but I wouldn't want to see 8.2 "swallowed up" in Design. 8.2.1 is also about the Customer Service process, Customer Returns, and Process design (realization). 8.2.1 and 8.2.2 are part of 6.3 change management via customer changes to specifications.