Is QMS like a set of rules and regulations that a company follows?

Seekingknowledgee

Starting to get Involved
Hi All,

I'm pretty new to this. So one of the basic questions I want to verify is what a Quality Management System is. I know that every company has its own QMS.
But is QMS like a set of rules and regulations that a company follows? Is that it? Like if a company follows all the quality regulations of, Let's say, ISO 13485, then if a question arises, "What is your company's QMS?/ What kind of QMS does your company follow?" Then the answer would be, " My company follows a QMS of ISO13485" .
Is that how it would go?

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

William55401

Involved In Discussions
You are on the right track. Depending on the markets your company participates in, there will be local country requirements too. 13485 is a good starting point to build on. Enjoy the ride.

Last edited:

Seekingknowledgee

Starting to get Involved
You are on the right track. Depending on the markets your company participates in, there will be local country requirements too. 13485 is a good start point to build on. Enjoy the ride.
Thanks William. Quick question. Lets say two companies, both certified as ISO13485 only. No other QMS/Certifications that they have. Both manufacture same product, in same country.
Since they both are ISO13485, Will both be following the same rules/regulations? In other words asking " Is it possible that in spite both companies manufacture same product in same country and same everything, they follow different rules and regulations, and both still be ISO13485? "

In other words, Does ISO13485 (or any other QMS) give leniency/flexibility to companies that would not like to follow some of the rules and regs imposed by ISO13485, and still be certified as ISO13485(or whichever QMS)?

Tagin

Trusted Information Resource
From ISO 9000:2015 -

2.2.2 Quality management system