Is there a proper protocol to follow for Self Certification?

F

francisjb

Hello everyone,

I am new to the Quality game but through courses and constant reading I am learning very quickly. I do have my frist question for the Forum. My superior had asked me to research the possibilty of becoming Self Certified. I can not seem to find any information on this. In fact, I had never heard of it until now. Is there a proper protocal to follow and if so who issues the certification?

Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Francis

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Jen Kirley

Quality and Auditing Expert
Staff member
Admin
Re: Self Certification???

Welcome to The Cove Francis! :bigwave:

Are you talking about professional certification or registration to ISO?

If you're referring to professional certification, what is your job?

If you mean registration to ISO, what industry are you working in?

F

francisjb

Thanks for the welcome Jennifer! :D

Well... the goal is to become ISO certified but for the time being he would like us to shoot for a "Self Certification". I informed him I would research it as I had no idea what he was talking about.

My job is Quality Assurance Manager and I am currently in the Filtration field.

C

Craig H.

Self certification certainly is not unheard of. You can use internal auditors to perform the check, but an even better approach, IMO, would be to get a voulnteer from outside the company to audit you to ISO 9001. Maybe your local ASQ section would be a resource?

If you get a clean audit you can say that you are self-certified. It likely won't carry as much weight as a real third party certification, though.

The main thing, though is to use a template to inprove and maintain your processes. ISO 9001 can work, as can the National and State Quality Award criteria.

Jen Kirley

Quality and Auditing Expert
Staff member
Admin