ISO17020 - Equipment calibration requirement

Senray897

Registered
Hi All, a very good day. I am new to NDT field and ISO17020. The company i am working for wants to go for ISO17020 accreditation. The consultant we have hired said all equipment must be calibrated by accredited lab only. Our UT equipment is being calibrated by the supplier we buy the equipment from and they are calibrating it based on manufacturer's method. There is no calibration lab near us who can actually calibrate the UT equipment. What can i do to comply the calibration requirement? Thank you in advance.

dwperron

Trusted Information Resource
Hi All, a very good day. I am new to NDT field and ISO17020. The company i am working for wants to go for ISO17020 accreditation. The consultant we have hired said all equipment must be calibrated by accredited lab only. Our UT equipment is being calibrated by the supplier we buy the equipment from and they are calibrating it based on manufacturer's method. There is no calibration lab near us who can actually calibrate the UT equipment. What can i do to comply the calibration requirement? Thank you in advance.

My best answer is for you to speak with your Accreditation Board. They have different policies on this. I think (but do not know for certain) that all require that you provide evidence that you have performed "due diligence" in seeking an accredited laboratory.

For instance, A2LA has this policy:
"A CAB may use a calibration laboratory whose service is suitable for the intended need, but is not covered by the ILAC MRA under the following conditions:
a) The CAB maintains evidence that there is no other accredited calibration laboratory available to perform the calibration or maintains evidence of qualification for special circumstances (see Policy: Special Circumstances); and