I've inherited a mess - New to the Regulatory/Quality area - ISO 13485

R

Rhino

Well, I am new to the Regulatory/Quality area. I have a legal and project management background and was recently choosen to run the Regulatory Affairs division of our company.

Needless to say, I inherited a mess. We are in the process of going from 13485 1996 to 2003. And the manual, procedures and processes are all a complete mess and rather outdated to say the least.

I have a pretty thourough understanding of 13485 2003 and I am still trying to thouroughly learn our current practices, but I do have a basic understanding of how things are set-up.

What is the best way to start this whole process? Any advice and any recommendations that you all have would be greatly appreciated. I have learned alot already reading through the posts, but there is an awfull lot of info to digest.

Thanks for your help.

Ryan

DannyK

Trusted Information Resource
Approach to situation

Ryan,

I would start off with an internal audit to the old standard to highlight the problems and issue corrective action requests for system problems.

I would ensure that all the process owners deal with their problems and would follow-up on a regular basis.

Next I would modify the current documentation to include the new requirements and would invite management and supervisors to a training session highlighting the differences.

A schedule with all the gaps should be created and a weekly follow-up shouldbe performed. Then perform an audit on the differences or on the whole system.

Danny

Q

qualitygoddess - 2010

Ryan:

Welcome! Try doing a couple of searches on 13485. There is a nice cross-reference tool that someone posted here about 6 months ago that shows the 13485:2003 requirements along with 9001:2000. I found it most useful! If no one else posts it, I will dig it up at home and send it along.