SBS - The Best Value in QMS software

Kindly help me to understand MSA Acceptance Level

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Miner

Forum Moderator
Staff member
Admin
Linearity: t-values for the slope coefficient and intercept coefficient must be less than the critical t-value. Zero line must fall within the confidence limits of the regression line.

Stability: The plotted points must be in control for the duration of the study.

Bias: A calibration or the Linearity study will address Bias.

Kappa: I am not an expert on Attribute Agreement Analysis. Hopefully someone else will add a comment.

Marc

Fully vaccinated are you?
Staff member
Admin
Thanks, Miner. I appreciate your help here.

I'll add a few Forum Searches. They're broad (single word) searches so some unrelated discussions will come up:

Linearity

Stability

Bias

Kappa

And don't forget to check out the Thread Topic Tag links at the top of this thread.

Bev D

Heretical Statistician
Staff member
Super Moderator
mohaniman - could you clarify what about the acceptance criteria you would like to understand? for example are you interested in:
  • what they are?
  • why they are at those levels?
  • what do you need to do if you don't meet the acceptance criteria?

In teh meantime I can tell you that for Kappa agreemetn studies there are various guidelines that have been published by various sources. Some are shockingly low...The more critical the defect in terms of severity of effect, the higher the Kappa score should be. *I* personally use a 95% - 99% level for acceptance dependign on teh severity.

Unfortunately many of these 'acceptance criteria' are not scientifically derived, they are loose 'rules of thumb' not tied to consequences of false acceptance or rejection of product.

Jim Wynne

Staff member
Admin
Just FWIW, I once submitted a PPAP that included an attributes study that indicated 100% agreement between operators. It was rejected on the grounds that the result exceeded 30%. :tg: