Knowledge of the upcoming ISO 17025 Revision

Brizilla

Quite Involved in Discussions
So, second day in my new quality manager role. We have to transition to ISO 2015 by February, fine. Oh and next after that IATF16949, maybe next year and oh yeah, we want our gage lab to be accredited to ISO 17025. Hmmm, I do have a copy of that standard and I'm just starting to look into it. I hear they're changing it in October. I'm studying the 2005 version now. Anyone know what the affects of 2017 will be on the old standard? :bigwave:

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

howste

Thaumaturge
Super Moderator
If you have the other standards to work on, I'd wait until the new 17025 standard is released. I have a copy of the December 2016 DIS version, but I haven't spent much time on it since there were a lot of comments on that version that needed to be resolved before publication. If you really want get started, there's a presentation here that you may want to look at from May 2017. It will give you some idea of what's going on without being too detailed (36 page PowerPoint).

Sidney Vianna

Post Responsibly
Staff member
Admin
In addition to Howste's comments, after release of the new edition, laboratories will be given 36 months to attain accreditation to the new version of the standard. So, you can procrastinate wait.;)

dwperron

Trusted Information Resource
I recently received my copy of the Final Draft of the new 17025 version. It is now out to be voted on, with voting closing on 10/09/2017. This is an up or down vote this time, no comments, so we will know then the final document status.

The big changes are the layout of the document (it doesn't look anything like the copy you have), and 2 options for dealing with the management system (ISO 9001 vs. setting up your own system). The revision team says:

The main changes compared to the previous edition are as follows: