Leakage current tests for battery powered device with IEC 62368 compliant charger

standardnovice

Registered
Hi, this is my first post here and I'd like to say what a great resource this forum has been for me as i am very new to regulatory work in my firm.

I have the following conundrum:

I have a battery powered (internally powdered) medical device that can connect to
1. A battery charger compliant with IEC 62368 that is connected to mains
2. Other equipments that are connected to mains which are IEC 60601-1 or IEC 62368 compliant, used to transfer signals to my device.

Q: Do I have to consider earth/touch leakage current from the above 2 when my device is connected to them?

Example- current flowing through the medical device to the patient (via other contacts) to the ground? Especially given the compliance of charger/equipment to 62368 or 60601?

Note: If leakage current tests do apply, could you clarify if they follow clause 8.7 or 16.6 (ME equipment or ME system) when these equipment are connected to my device.

Thank you in advance!

Last edited:

Peter Selvey

Leader
Super Moderator
Any parts of a "ME system" within the "patient environment" (a defined term) should comply with the earth/touch leakage current limits in IEC 60601-1 even if a equipment is already certified to the relevant standards. A system can consist of a medical device powered by a non-medical device, signal connections to other non-medical equipment and the use of multi-socket powerboards which then power multiple items of equipment both medical and non-medical. This is all covered by Clause 16.

However there are a few non-intuitive concepts. First any certified equipment (medical or non-medical) should not be modified in anyway that requires a tool or obscures the original labelling.