Learning ISO 13485 - Getting a better understanding of the requirements

M

moocow

I just began working for a medical device company in the US, and am wondering is there anything that will help me getting a better understanding of the requirements. I've never worked with it before and need some direction.

I prefer not to take a course that I need to pay for.

Elsmar Forum Sponsor
W

William_55401

Re: Learning ISO 13485

Welcome! Reading and building a library of desk and on line resources is going to be your best bet. A book that I have found very helpful is Kim Trautman's book on the FDA and Worldwide QS Reqirements for Medical Devices. It covers FDA and 13485 in one book. It is on Amazon. No, I do not earn a commission. Good luck.

sagai

Quite Involved in Discussions
Re: Learning ISO 13485

I do not think the essential knowledge can be gained without having someone sharing her/his experience in the industry.
Reading the standard without putting into proper context is more or less for me a waste of time.

I do not know your background, may be that would help us to suggest something sensible.
Cheers!

M

moocow

Simplify

I am the QA/RA managers assistant... the training I got, went in one ear and out the other. I just want a better understaning of it all. Like I said I have no experience in with ISO. So im looking for outside help

Marcelo

Inactive Registered Visitor
Read some books from quality gurus - Deming's two books, and Juran on quality by design and planning for quality is what I recommend.

The read ISO 9000 Quality Systems Handbook by David Hoyle.

After that, you will have a very good knowledge of quality systems in general. The ISO standards on quality systems are really nothing more than reflections of good practices from the field of quality management.

For quality systems in the medical device field, you may gain a lot of knowledge from the FDA Medical Device Quality Systems Manual and all the preambles to 21 QSR 820.

Last edited: