Least squares estimate, regression model and corresponding residuals

S

silverjlp

Hello,
I am a statistics student. I have a Minitab assignment. My professor is making us learn Minitab on our own - really. I desperately need help and step by step help. I know very little about Minitab.

Here are the questions:
It is suspected that the rating (y) is related to the average number of yards gained per pass attempt (x).
(a) Calculate the least squares estimates of the slope and intercept. What is the estimate of σ2 (ohm squared)? Graph the regression model.
(b) Find an estimate of the mean rating if a quarterback averages 7.5 yards per attempt.
(c) What change in the mean rating is associated with a decrease of one yard per attempt?
(d) To increase the mean rating by 10 points, how much increase in the average yards per attempt must be generated?
(e) Given that x is 7.21 yards, find the fitted value of x and the corresponding residual.​

Here is the data:

Yds Rating
8.39 105.5
7.67 97.4
7.66 96.9
7.98 96.2
7.21 95.0
7.53 93.8
8.01 92.7
7.66 91.4
7.21 90.2
7.16 89.4
7.93 87.7
7.10 87.5
6.33 87.0
6.76 86.4
6.86 86.4
7.35 86.0
7.22 85.4
7.94 84.7
6.41 84.3
6.77 81.7
6.65 81.0
6.94 80.3
6.45 80.2
7.04 80.1
6.39 79.6
6.58 77.1
6.21 76.0
7.17 73.7
6.34 72.6
6.18 71.4
5.12 70.0
5.71 66.5

I have found in Stat - Regression - Regression - Fit Regression Model, but what is in the responses and what is in continuous predictor?
How do I answer b-e?

You are not doing my homework for me, even if you answer step by step.

I appreciate all you can offer.

Last edited by a moderator:
Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Miner

Forum Moderator
Leader
Admin
Recall from high school the equation of a line is: y = mx + b.
  • y is the response
  • m is the slope (in the Minitab output, this will be the Coef[ficient] for the continuous predictor)
  • x is the continuous predictor
  • b is the y intercept (in the Minitab output, this will be the Coef[ficient] for the Constant)