Lloyd's Register Quality Assurance Out of Registration Business?

A

Alf Gulford

I'm just now reading the February 12 edition of Quality Manager's Alert and seeing that Lloyd's Register Quality Assurance has announced that it's out of the certification business! Anybody have any insight on this?

I've been hearing for a couple of years that they were thinking about 'de-emphasizing' this aspect of their business, but I had no idea it would come to this. My experiences with them were very good.

To expand the question, is anyone seeing a 'shaking out' of registrars? There's a lot of competition and maybe this is a natural part of the process.

Alf

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

CarolX

Super Moderator
Super Moderator
I have a question....what happens when a Registrar goes out of business???? Do the "sell" our registration to someone else? This was one aspect I never considered during our registration process.

Ummmmm,

CarolX.

C

Carl Keller

Out of the registration business effective when?

Does it mention whether they are just going to discontinue initial assessment or are they just going to pull out completely and immediately?

I have worked with them in the past and found them to be highly professional. I can't imagine them surprising the customers by not showing up for their next surveillance audits.

Carl-

J

Jim Triller

I spoke with my account rep. at LRQA this past Thursday (2/22). He didn't mention anything about discontinuing this service.

A

Alf Gulford

As I understand it, you would be faced with finding a new registrar and convincing them that you're still qualified to keep your registration. The article suggests that much of that arguement would be based on records - so keep very good records. Otherwise you'd have to buy another Initial Assessment ($$$).

I might suggest that a company only sign with a registrar that they're sure will be around for a long time, but I would have bet money on Lloyd's.