Maintaining Material Certs on Standard Hardware

Kurt Smith

Involved In Discussions
I am a relatively new quality manager at a small "Build to Print Fabrication" shop focusing on prototyping and small batch orders for the automotive industry. While learning our system for maintaining good material certs I realized we don't currently have any documentation for standard hardware like bolts or nuts. We keep a thorough filing for origins and test results of our sheet metals and other raw materials, but nothing for the hardware. But I'm unsure if this is a standard practice or something that needs corrected. Any advice?

Golfman25

Trusted Information Resource
I am a relatively new quality manager at a small "Build to Print Fabrication" shop focusing on prototyping and small batch orders for the automotive industry. While learning our system for maintaining good material certs I realized we don't currently have any documentation for standard hardware like bolts or nuts. We keep a thorough filing for origins and test results of our sheet metals and other raw materials, but nothing for the hardware. But I'm unsure if this is a standard practice or something that needs corrected. Any advice?
Do you need traceability back to the source for the hardware? If so, you probably want to maintain certs.

Kurt Smith

Involved In Discussions
Do you need traceability back to the source for the hardware? If so, you probably want to maintain certs.
Well that's the issue. This is a small place that hasn't had a lot of knowledgeable people in charge. Nobody here has the experience to know if our general material cert requirements include hardware. And I can't find any documentation defining our material cert system. I was hoping someone would be able to say from experience if those small parts get the same document trail or if them being standardized made it unnecessary.

John Predmore