J

JodyC

I have recently been hired as Quality Manager for a small aerospace machine shop to put ISO Certification in place. ISO isn't new to me, I've been through processes with two other companies so I understand what it takes.
I am not getting any cooperation from Owner/President of company, i.e. can't afford it, don't have time right now, telling me yes then not backing me up to others. I have been employed here for only 2 months and am very frustrated/concerned. I am a persevering person, however, when the big boss won't comply is there really any reason to stick around??? This is my first time posting, but have gleaned much information from the sight so far.
I have been in the manufacturing/quality business for 30 years and have never run into such an issue. It is not just me who knows how difficult, unreliable the owner is, I have heard many stories. Any ideas on how to knock a door in this wall, vere around it, throw a ladder over the top, would be much appreciated.

You should also know, there is NO quality control in place, a few forms(no one has been required to use), no procedures, a Quality manual that is very lacking for ISO standards. The owner is frequently gone and leaves no one in charge, bad mouths everyone when something goes wrong. Actually, after writing this all down, I believe I've answered my own question....

Anyone looking for a quality person????? Production management, engineering experience too : ) I would still love any input if you have some...

Thanks for the assistance,
Jody

C

Craig H.

Well, Jody, welcome! And a heck of a first post.

In short, "show me the money". Gather your evidence and show the honcho how the situation is costing him now, and how it could cost him everything (in aerospace? sheesh) if the situation continues.

Greed and fear can be powerful motivators.

C

chaosweary

Hahaha, welcome to our world, now for some of my greatest unshared quality secrets: