Manufacturers Obligations for Medical Device Servicing and/or Repair

S

SarahB1

Hi,
I wonder if anyone can help me please? I am new to medical devices that need service and/or repair and just need some clarification on the requirements.

We manufacture and either sell or lease medical devices. Where they are leased, part of that agreement is that we, or our approved supplier, service the equipment in accordance with our instructions (every 6 months). We keep records of all service and maintenance done on the equipment.

Where the device is sold, through a distributor, we have no such agreement, and they are free to choose their own supplier for service. We provide the service manual and requirements for service. At present we do not get copies of the service reports etc. Do we need to?

Thanks

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Candi1024

Quite Involved in Discussions
Re: Manufacturers obligations for servicing

No, you do not. At least, we do not, and it has never been mentioned as a requirement. You have no control over the service supplier, and the buyers have no obligation to send you service reports.

yodon

Staff member
Super Moderator

No, you do not. At least, we do not, and it has never been mentioned as a requirement. You have no control over the service supplier, and the buyers have no obligation to send you service reports.
Interesting question and equally interesting response. Can't argue one way or the other but I would like to ask a few follow-on questions.

21 CFR 820.200 states that the manufacturer (b) must analyze service reports and (c) determine if the report constitutes a complaint. (In 13485:2016 analysis of service reports has been added to 8.4 Analysis of Data, by the way). Is there a risk that you might not have this data?