Manufacturing Process Audit Help

Good morning Cove citizens,

I've been searching all morning on Elsmar and elsewhere and pulling my hair out over this. I apologize in advance if I'm hard to follow or misunderstanding key ideas, I'm new to IATF auditing and work for a small company with a lack of experience in the area. I'm trying to perform a manufacturing process audit according to clause 9.2.2.3 and am having trouble figuring out the best way to structure it. I've seen advice saying to follow the control plan and audit the steps outlined there (i.e. start with "process 2: secondary thread setup", audit that step, then move to the next one), and other advice stating it's necessary to audit the manufacturing process as a whole (i.e. starting with the first manufacturing step of screw machine setup and ending with secondary operations). I know the manufacturing process is okay, I just don't know how to prove it to an auditor. Thank you in advance for any help, and if anyone needs any more information or clarification please ask.

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Johnny Quality

Involved In Discussions
Leetster,

Just follow the process and acquire evidence that all is as it should be. You say the first step is "screw machine setup", how do you know what it should be and what evidence do you have that all is well?

Say a parameter has a range of X-Y as documented on file A in location B. Is B a sensible location? Is file A available and readable to the required personnel? Is it the correct revision level? Is the parameter within the range X-Y?

Document the pieces of evidence you used and what you see at the process.

bkirch

Involved In Discussions