Matters being audited, independence, participation and direct responsibility

Background:
I am a QA Manager at a small business (~20 employees) that is a contract manufacturer for a very large MDM. I have completed no degree higher than a high school diploma, did not go to school for this,
started at the lowest position here and basically fought to carve my path here every step of the way. I'm a big supporter of higher education, it just wasn't an opportunity for me.

Anyway... Occasionally I develop a view that disagrees with my VP. :argue:

I'm not interested in alienating the one who does my performance appraisal, of course(!), but he has also consistently told me never to let him "screw up." I committed to doing my best there.

So, of course, I try to exercise discernment and not voice every piddly thing... but when I don't think he's right on something major, I believe it's due diligence to find a way to communicate it. I'd hate to see anything bad happen that I could have prevented.

Today's Context:
Without getting into causes, let me say that lately we are very short-staffed in Production and have a ridiculous turnover rate. So much so, that to stuff something in this bleeding hole, Top Management reallocated half of my Quality technicians there "indefinitely" to work as Production operators instead.

Now I am even being told that I and rest of the audit team should also go out to Production and work there as well. As much as possible.

:lick: (I'm starving... oh wait... I can eat my eyeballs!)

Feeding auditors to this fire confuses me the most, and nevermind the "how will any QA work get done"... Rather - how can it even work per 21CFR820.22?