Measuring Effectiveness of Internal Audits - Reporting in Management Review Meeting

T

Toni Herrera

Hi All!
This is my first visit to the site and the forum. I feel as though I've struck gold!!

I have a question. I have been performing internal audits for three years and typically I report at management reviews which audits were performed, which audits were past due on the schedule, and which random audits were performed due to a customer complaint, major breakdown, or rework/scrap costs.
I tell them how many corrective actions were issued and which ISO element had the most non-compliances.

Now, we are looking at "measuring the effectiveness" of the internal audit process. Am I way off base in believing that the measurements we are looking for will be found in the corrective action follow ups?

Elsmar Forum Sponsor
J

Jimmy Olson

Hi Toni,

Welcome to the cove. It's the best resource you can have (in my opinion).

I would agree with you in using corrective actions to measure audit effectiveness. That seems like it would at least be a good starting point.

I will keep my answer short since I am still new to this. I am sure you will get responses from plenty of knowledgable people. :p

N

NITIN

You could present-
Number of disputed audits
Feedback of auditees
Reaction time analysis to close non conformances over different time periods
Process improvement findings

Re: Measuring Internal Audits

Toni Herrera said:

Hi All!
This is my first visit to the site and the forum. I feel as though I've struck gold!!
I think you have, Toni. That was my feeling as well when I first found the Cove, and I still consider it a gold mine. Welcome aboard :D .

Ok.... Over to your question:

Concerning the audits themselves, I do an annual evaluation looking at among other things:

Planned vs carried out audits.
The number of new audit findings vs closed ones during the year.
Average time from registration of a finding to completed action.

I also do a weekly follow up on: