SBS - The Best Value in QMS software

Medical Device Licensing - Plans or Process Maps

A

Aaria

I am new to the local/state regulations (US) for medical device licensing. Reading other threads helped, but couldn't get a comprehensive snapshot of requirements. The product I am working with is a wearable drug delivery system which does not have any drug products built in and is indicated to use an already approved drug with a separate prescription. We are trying to come up with a plan for commercializing in US and licensing requirements is one of them.

Has anyone compiled a medical device licensing plan or have process maps/procedures that could be shared? I am also interested in learning more about everyone's learning experience in this process (Do's and Don'ts).

Thanks for your time.

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Ronen E

Problem Solver
Staff member
I am new to the local/state regulations (US) for medical device licensing. Reading other threads helped, but couldn't get a comprehensive snapshot of requirements. The product I am working with is a wearable drug delivery system which does not have any drug products built in and is indicated to use an already approved drug with a separate prescription. We are trying to come up with a plan for commercializing in US and licensing requirements is one of them.

Has anyone compiled a medical device licensing plan or have process maps/procedures that could be shared? I am also interested in learning more about everyone's learning experience in this process (Do's and Don'ts).

Thanks for your time.
Hi,

Just to clarify, when you refer to "licensing", do you mean that your commercialization will consist of selling licenses to other companies to use your design (is it already cleared with the FDA?) to actually make the device and distribute it under their name? Will your company be one of the actual manufacturers, too?