Search the Elsmar Cove!
**Search ALL of Elsmar.com** with DuckDuckGo Especially for content not in the forum
Such as files in the Cove "Members" Directory

Missing routers/documented information

CindyG

Involved In Discussions
I need help re: missing routers/documented information.

I am new to the document control position and doing my best to educate everyone on quality record retention.
Long story short... Mfg. routers go missing all the time and when I ask about a nonconformance being written for the missing routers and sometimes the parts go missing also, I am told to write a procedure on how to handle missing routers.

I do not think document control should be writing this procedure. I'm not supposed to direct mfg. errors. This should be quality or operations but routers and parts will continue being lost because there is not a written process staing how to handle missing information.
This is ridiculous and I feel it's an excuse for quality mgmt., engineering, and operations to continue w/carelessness. Please help me w/a reply to them.

Thank you!!!!

Jen Kirley

Quality and Auditing Expert
Staff member
Admin
Good day CindyG,

Being an ex-document control administrator, I understand your position. It certainly sounds as though they are trying to pass this off on you.