Monitoring Repair time and age of WIP

P

PFyffe

Hi All,

I'm a newbie - this is my first post!
I've recently started as an account manager in a repair centre, responsible for the repair of consumer products.
Basically the process involves receiving products for repair from the end users (approximately 300/day on my account) and repair within SLA of 3 days.

Our typical daily output is around the 300 mark, however our WIP can rise and fall based upon variation in infeed and internal issues, such as material shortages and engineering.

This means that aged WIP can and does often go over the 3 day mark, and also if WIP increases too much our average repair time also increases due to us not touching some units until days 2 and 3 rather than day 0 and 1 as is the optimum.

I need to try and establish some kind of KPI by which I can measure our service performance, both based upon aged WIP, total WIP and repair time.

I'm new to statistical analysis, so I'm looking to make use of your expert knowledge. I do know that using averages doen't really give an accurate measure (based upon my observations) and I'm sure there's a statistical method that can be deployed to help us improve and control our performance.

Have any of you had a similar experience, or know of a tool that would work well in such a case?

Thanks for your help

H

Hondo812

I would suggest that before you get hip dip in some statistical analysis that you spend some time to map your processes. You haven't said just how many different kinds of consumer goods your firm repairs so it is difficult to know how to help you without understanding your process bottlenecks. Once you have mapped the processes conduct a time study for each one to determine exactly where your bottlenecks lie.