More ISO 14001 and ISO 9001 Integration Questions

L

Luke Hannant

Futher questions on ISO 14001 and ISO 9001 integration

I have read through the various threads on ISO 14001 and ISO 9001 integration. From what I can see the integration of these 2 systems will result in an overall reduction of documentation of the 2 systems, amongst other benefits. The company I am currently helping to implement ISO 14001 is also ISO 900x certified (athough is seems to be in shambles).

Can anyone help answer the following questions:

During Certification of ISO 14001, to what level will the ISO 9001 part be audited and evaluated by the register? Will only the common elements be investigated, or will the 2 systems be considered as one, and therefore throughly evaluated?

Do the internal auditors have to be certified to audit both systems?

I apologise for the simplicity of these questions, but I am an absolute beginner to ISO 900x (and ISO 14001 some might argue! )

;)

Elsmar Forum Sponsor
Depends..

Hi luke,
During Certification of ISO 14001, to what level will the ISO 9001 part be audited and evaluated by the register? Will only the common elements be investigated, or will the 2 systems be considered as one, and therefore throughly evaluated?
In a 14001 audit, 9001 will be disregarded. Only the elements relevant to 14001 will be investigated.
Do the internal auditors have to be certified to audit both systems?
No. I have a number of auditors: Right now only a few of them are qualified to audit both 9001 and 14001. (That will change as we intend to combine EMS and QMS into one system).
I apologise for the simplicity of these questions, but I am an absolute beginner to ISO 900x (and ISO 14001 some might argue! )
There is no need to apologise. The only dumb thing with any question would be not to ask, so fire away.

/Claes

Randy

Super Moderator
Luke,