MSA Attribute Data Analysis Study

V

vinay87

Hello all,
I'm new here though I've been lurking about for quite some time. I'm Vinay, from India and I work at an automobile parts manufacturer as their M.R.
The company is ISO 9001:2008 accredited, although that's all falling appart and we're in the process of grudgingly moving towards TS 16949:2009 (grudgingly since there is a serious lack of management commitment here, go figure). That apart, I was involved with MSA activities a few years ago, and was stuck with calculating the confidence indices using MS Excel with a format I made in my old job. I'm attaching this here in hopes that someone will help me figure if it's right. I'll explain more once I get someone interested in this. This format is an old project of mine that I was very passionate about. I have no background in statistics but I remember slogging through Juran's Quality Handbook for ideas on how to calculate the CIs.
The format is for purely attribute based decisions, say a visual check that yields only OK/NOTOK as the decisions. There are no measurements involved.
I've added comments to the row headers so that it's clear how I obtained these formulae. I don't remember how I arrived at the one I got from Juran, it has been 2 years since then.

Attachments

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Bill McNeese

Involved In Discussions
Hello Vinay87,
Welcome. I am not sure what you are asking. Are you asking if your workbook is correct for the CIs? It looks like you used Excel's function CONFIDENCE to do the confidence intervals. That function is for a confidence interval around a mean for a normal distribution. It does not fit what you have here.

Here is a link that provides you the formulas you can use:

http://www.spcforexcel.com/attribute-gage-rr-studies-part-2

The intervals are based on the F distribution and degrees of freedom.

Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
F MSA - Measurement System Analysis Attribute Data Crosstab sheet APQP and PPAP 1