MSDS - Hazardous Material List - Where can I find the list?

K

Katydid

I work for a company with ISO9001:2000 rev registered Quality System. I am just getting into the MSDS section of our system. I have noted some inconsistencies with the materials we are listing in as hazardous in our MSDS sheets. For example, we mix a bunch of different salts to make additives for molten aluminum. Many of our products contain Sodium Carbonate, or Sodium Sulfate. I do not see it listed consistently on all MSDS's for each end product we mix, so I want to know which is correct.

In order to verify them, I need to know where to check to see if I am required to report the Sodium Sulfate or Sodium Carbonate for the United States MSDS's. Where is the elusive Hazardous Material list found? Is it the same list as the "Handling Hazardous Materials" book I use to determine the UN number, Proper shipping name, Hazard Class or division, PG, Label Codes, and Placard type? :confused:

My issues extend to other countries too, so does anyone know how to find it for Canada or Australia?

Thanks,
Pyro Kate

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Randy

Super Moderator
Manufacturers of hazardous materials that are to be distributed are the only parties required to generate MSDS's. What you're doing is a combining/mixing materials as part of the manufacturing process of another material. You shouldn't need to make out an MSDS unless you intend it for use other than your own.

Or if I misunderstood... you are making a compound to distribute. If so then follow the guidance that Kevin gave

Manoj Mathur

Quite Involved in Discussions
Msds

MSDS is required, whether product is Hazardous or not. Many of my customer demanded MSDS of Simple Aluminum Foil , I have prepared it and given to whomsoever want. MSDS tells us How to store How to dispose after use.

K

Katydid