NC and Deviation approach - please help

Hello,

Does this process comply ISO and CFR? This is my first time “working backward” from Deviation to NC

My new company has our new division (Validation, Quality, F&E) for Contract Manufacturing Services and we’re in the stage of developing documents. My team wants to use same documents from existing product for CMS Car-T with these two docs (A) and (B)
(A) Deviation SOP applies to “validation process/execution”
Then it splits into Non-Critical and Critical. Critical deviation will proceed NC

(B) Non-Conformance SOP defines “NC process including recognition, notification, investigation, assessment of impact, determination of root cause, immediate corrections, identification of CAPA, and documentation”
NC also splits into Major, Minor, Critical
NC also determines if CAPA is needed

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

John Predmore

Trusted Information Resource
Does this process comply ISO and CFR? This is my first time “working backward” from Deviation to NC
I am lost. Your mention of CFR and CAPA leads me to think you are in the Medical Device industry, so that indicates ISO 13485. Many people in general forums are from different industries and jargon does not help us communicate. For example, the word Deviation is sometimes used to describe a non-conformance in the product, but also a NC in the process, but also as a shorthand for the Deviation Waiver Request, which is a document. I can't tell which meaning you intend from context in your posting. Even the word critical can reflect different meanings in different contexts.

Your general question is about a process. A couple statements is not enough to describe a process adequately to judge compliance with any quality management standard. Typically, a process has inputs and outputs and resources and persons responsible and some sequence and boundaries for achieving the intended purpose.